Meet Aisling Ferris – “Alice” in “Matilda the Musical”

Meet Aisling Ferris – “Alice” in “Matilda the Musical”

How long have you been in theatre?
I have been in theatre for over half my life!  Since I was 5.

What does outside of theatre mean?
I am in 3 shows right now, I take vocal lessons and dance lessons all at Marquee.  When I am outside of theatre…I’m asleep.

What did you prepare for your audition?
A monologue about a girl who has a huge crush on a boy at school and talks to herself about it and my vocal  audition was Popular from Wicked

Image result for gif wicked popular

Have you been in a show/program with Marquee in the past?
I’m in 2 other shows with Marquee right now.   I’m Jasmine in Aladdin in January and I am in Crazy for you in April.  This is my first adult production but my 16th show/program with Marquee if you include the other 2 I’m in right now.

What is it that you like about working with Marquee?
It’s like a big family.

Image result for gif family

If you could time travel, where would you go?
If I could time travel I would go to the 1990s because everyone talks about the 1990s and I could totally rock the big hair.

Image result for gif big hair

Who do you look up to? Why?
I look up to my Mom because she does so much for me and takes care of me and my brother Brendan and she is so much fun.

If you could meet any famous actor or cartoon character, who would it be?
I would like to meet Kristin Chenoweth because I love Wicked!  Chris Hemsworth because I love the Marvel Cinematic Universe or Timon from the Lion King because he is really funny and cute.

What do you like to do for fun?
I like to hang out with my family.

When you’re having a bad day, what do you do to make yourself feel better?
To make myself feel better I have a freezie and watch The Office.

Related image

What are 3 things you like about yourself?
I like my hair and eyes because they look like my Mom’s.  I like my ability to be kind to everybody even when I’m about to rip their head off.

What is one food you think is really gross?
The grossest food I know is potatoes…and I’m Irish!

What’s the hardest part about growing up?
The hardest part about growing up is having more expected of you but not being able to do it – oh and mood swings.

Image result for gif mood swing

What are three things that you look forward to before getting on stage?
1. getting in my costume  2. seeing it all come together 3. getting to have fun on stage

If you could play any other character in this show, who would it be?
I would like to play Miss Honey.

When did you first perform?
When I was 2 I sang and danced all the time.  My first Marquee show I was 5 and I was Toto in the Wizard of Oz summer program.

Image result for gif toto wizard of oz

Who’s the funniest person in the cast in real life?
John or JC are the funniest

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage / the curtain goes up? …
The last thing I do is think about my lines…and take deep breaths

Fun Fact – I can do the wave with my eye brows.

 

Marquee Theatrical Productions presents

Matilda Facebook Covers (6)

Book by Dennis Kelly
Music and Lyrics by Tim Minchin

Based on the book, Matilda by Roald Dahl

Nov. 14-16, 21-23 at 7:30pm and Nov. 16, 17, 23, and 24th at 2pm

Featuring an Opening night intermission reception

Get your tickets HERE

 

Leave a comment