Meet Charlotte Burdon – “Erica” in “Matilda the Musical”

Meet Charlotte Burdon – “Erica” in “Matilda the Musical”

 How long have you been in theatre?
Almost 4 years!

What do you do outside of theatre? (work, school, hobbies)
I like to hang out with friends, family and my dogs.

Image result for gif dogs

Why do you do community theatre?
Community theatre is the most fun version of theatre because there’s no pressure, you just get to do what you love!

Have you been in a show/program with Marquee in the past?
Yes, about 20!

What have you gained from performing/studying at Marquee?
I’ve learned a lot from Marquee in terms of singing, dancing, and acting, but also confidence and work ethic.  It’s like a home away from home. Everyone is very accepting.

Why did you want to be involved in this production?
Matilda is one of my favourite shows of all times!

Image result for gif favorite

Who do you look up to? Why?
My mom. I would love to be like her.

What is your favourite song?
Don’t stop me now.

Image result for gif don't stop me now

What are 3 things you like about yourself?
My eyes, singing and personality.

What is the funniest word you know?
Supercilious

Image result for gif supercilious

What’s the hardest part about growing up?
Figuring out what you want to be when you are older.

What are three things that you look forward to before getting on stage?
Seeing my friends and family in the audience, performing my favourite number and getting ice cream on the way home.

Image result for gif ice cream

Tell us about who your character is – without giving away too much of the story.
All I will say is my ears might be a different shape by the time the shows are done.

How is this character like you? Different?
We both always say what is on our mind, but I don’t consider myself revolting.

What do you love about this character?
The dancing I get to do in this show.

Related image

If you could play any other character in this show, who would it be?
Mrs Trunchbull

If you had a magic wand, what show would you do next?
Wicked.

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage / the curtain goes up?
Breathe, if I can manage it.

 

Marquee Theatrical Productions presents

Matilda Facebook Covers (6)

Book by Dennis Kelly
Music and Lyrics by Tim Minchin

Based on the book, Matilda by Roald Dahl

Nov. 14-16, 21-23 at 7:30pm and Nov. 16, 17, 23, and 24th at 2pm

Featuring an Opening night intermission reception

Get your tickets HERE

Leave a comment