Meet JC Paquet, “Bill” in Marquee’s Mamma Mia

Meet JC Paquet, “Bill” in Marquee’s Mamma Mia

How long have you been in theatre?
1st time was in Grade 4 “T’was the night before Christmas…” I was the mouse that didn’t stir, cuddled up at the front of the stage. OFFICIALLY I started acting in 1983 (Grade 11) as Sancho Panza in Man of LaMancha. 25 years later I got the chance to play the role again in Marquee’s production. Using tremendous math skills that makes… 36 years

Related image

What role(s) are you playing?
I am performing as BILL AUSTIN – one of the 3 dads.
I am also partnered with the very talented Danielle Grattage as Paint Design for the set

What is it that you like about working with Marquee?
I’ve always considered Marquee as more than a step above Community Theatre. There is a respected reputation of producing highly professional productions. Actors, Directors, Choreographers and musicians travel from all over to have a chance to be a part of these amazing performances.

What do you do by day?
I am lucky to be able to call myself an artist. Graphic Designer by trade.

Why do you do community theatre?
I seek attention… (?)

Hey I’m an artist. I get to paint and sing, dance, make a fool of myself. I have a great time. Make new friends every show I work on. All for the applause, applause, applause, I live for the applause-plause…

Image result for animated applause gif

When did you first perform?
Did I mention the mouse? My line was “that’s me!” then I curled back up and slept the rest of the 10 minutes on stage

Besides this one, what’s your favorite stage show?
Looking back over 40 productions, I loved portraying “Joe Vegas” in FAME, “LeFou” in BEAUTY and the BEAST, and most recently as “Brittany Spears” in WE WILL ROCK YOU. My most rewarding performance probably had to be “Nanna the dog” in PETER PAN. Three of those shows were with Marquee!

If someone was going to make your life into a movie, who would play you?

Mr. Johnny Depp has the talent to capture the depth and subtlety that is me.
Mr. Keanu Reeves can possibly pull off the dark, brooding intensity and my awesome martial arts skills but I think… Jack Black would be “the complete package”

Image result for animated gif jack black school of rock

Why did you want to be involved in this production?
Dream Team.

I will jump at any chance to work with JP Gedeon (Director) and Baiba Senecal (Choreographer) as well as getting to share the stage with Gord Annear and Brian Hargan. I’m blown away by talent and determination of this entire cast.

What would you love for the potential audience out there to know about this show?

It’s not just another rendition of a show performed in a little town theatre. This is a truly professional production that will blow your socks off. The audience is gonna need to bring extra socks I think…

When you have a five-minute break during rehearsal, what do you spend that time doing?
I will usually run to the set to keep drawing or painting to stay on top of things and the closer we get to showtime it’s usually lines, lines, lines… stretch, more lines, LAUGH, lines…

What do you do when you’re not doing theatre?
Work out… makin’ muscles. Pose in front of the mirror…I play guitar, paint, sculpt, draw, watch movies, meditate. I work during the day cuz… I’m a grownup.

If you had a magic wand, what show would you do next and why?
“The Full Monty”

Image result for animated gif The Full Monty

I’m petrified of being naked on stage. It is THE most out of my comfort zone I could possibly be and my biggest challenge.

Nothing like facing your fears with full frontal nudity!

Marquee Theatrical Productions presents

Mamma Mia Facebook Cover (4)

Music and Lyrics by
BENNY ANDERSSON &  BJÖRN ULVAEUS
And some songs with STIG ANDERSON
Book by CATHERINE JOHNSON

Featuring the music of ABBA, at the Newmarket Theatre on the following dates:

May 2-4, 9-11 at 7:30pm and May 4, 5, 11 and 12th at 2pm

Featuring an Opening night intermission reception and a special Mothers Day Performance.

Get your tickets HERE

 

Leave a comment