Meet Dale Matsushigue – Marquee’s Music Director for “All Shook Up”

 

What do you do in real life? 
I am a happily retired high school music teacher:  (Go Raiders, Mustangs, Bengals & Ravens!)

When did you first perform?
I first performed at 4 years old as a tap and ballet dancer.

Image result for 1950s dancing gif

Besides this one, what’s your favorite stage show?
Jesus Christ Superstar!  (hint, hint….:) and Wicked

Image result for jesus christ superstarImage result for wicked

Who do you look up to (as an actor/director/etc.)?
Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks

Image result for Tom hanks great gifImage result for meryl streep gif

What’s your perfect Sunday afternoon look like?
My perfect Sunday morning is relaxing and having a coffee outside on the deck ( on a nice, sunny day of course)

When you have a five-minute break during rehearsal, what do you spend that time doing?
We don’t do breaks.  Maybe we should be but we kind of get lost in the music…

Image result for 1950s dancing gif

Who’s the funniest person in the cast in real life?
When I look at the more ‘mature’ individuals in the cast, I would say that Brenda is probably the funniest person in the cast.

What do you do when you’re not doing theatre?
I play in 3 bands, I sing in a choir, I play golf, I ride horses AND I spend time with my grandson Rowen!

Image result for shocked and tired gif

If you had a magic wand, what show would you do next?
Like I said, Jesus Christ Superstar (hint, hint again)

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage / the curtain goes up?
I walk toward the stage at a slow, relaxed pace…..

What will the audience be thinking about in the car as they drive home after this show?
They will be smiling from ear to ear.

Related image

Call someone out by name: who must come see this production?
Jack!

All Shook Up Plays at the Newmarket Theatre Nov. 16-26 (dates and times below). Adult tickets are $29, Seniors/children under 12 $27, groups of 10 or more $25
Subscription rates save you $$. Ask about seeing two shows for one low price.

You can get tickets 4 ways:
1) Theatre online Box office  ($2/ticket service – you choose which seats you get.)
2) Order through Marquee (next best available seats on  and tickets are left at the box office door for you. No Service Fee)
3) Call the box office at 905-953-5122 (no service fee)
4) Visit the Box office in person at 505 Pickering Cres., Newmarket ON
ALL SHOOK UP Poster

Leave a comment